CG newbie in EU - 2B/C, medium texture & medium porosity - HALP

frcklsfrckls Posts: 528Registered Users Curl Neophyte
Hi! I'm a CG newbie with 2B/C wavies, too. I finally took the plunge with CG today after cleansing any build-ups from my previous routine of Suave Professional Moroccan Infusion hair care line.

I used a hotel shampoo I found in my bathroom drawer to clarify, then proceeded with Suave Natural Tropical Coconut to co-wash and Dr. Organic Pomegranate Conditioner as RO/LI on sopping wet hair, using squish condish method.

I felt that SNTC gave a lot of slip to my hair already, but I went on with the Dr.O anyway.

I later plopped my hair in flour sack towel for 20 minutes and left it to air-dry. But holy-moly, all my babyhairs are sticking out, my curls only look a tad more defined, and my ends still feel rather dry. I ended up pulling my hair into a ponytail and wrapping my whole head in a silk scarf, which helped a bit with the shine and frizz. In a nutshell, it's no beauty like the pictures floating around in Before-After thread.
I'm seriously lost if it's the protein in Suave, or the mega humidity in hear, or the humectant in Suave or not enough moisture or my hair just plainly sucks.

I avoided gel or mousse because I used them in the past and they made my curls crunchy, which I hate.

I did a lot of research before taking the plunge but I was seriously overwhelmed by the different methods and products. Plopping, no-plopping, IceQueen, comb-out, don't comb-out, SuperSoaker, etc. - I wanted to cry in desperation.
Plus, I now live in Malta where product selection is really lame. :/

This is my hair pre-CG (last night, actually). I'm dying to have my curls defined, softened and shine. Any advice would be highly appreciated!

14879795733_51eca4f52c.jpg
14859576372_986f0f3128.jpg
14859574132_d9d08a7557.jpg
14879789093_b11baf60d9.jpg
2B/C canopy & 2A/B underlayer
coarse | low-normal porosity | normal elasticity | low-med density
(by GoosefootPrints)