Hair color horror :(

cocoyascocoyas Registered Users Posts: 1
Hey guys…I decided to join this board after experiencing a traumatizing experience at a cosmetology school today.

My hair is 3b (waist length when straight and VERY thick) and naturally dark brown but I've been dyeing it blue back for 2 years…recently I decided to go an ash blonde, similar to Leona Lewis. I went to a professional to lift the black out of my hair the first time, and to a cosmetology school to save some buck and they got it to about a level 5. I waited 3 months in between each process to ensure that my hair was in good health by the time I colored it again.

Well today I went back to the school for the final step in achieving my ash blonde color.

This is where the horror begins… when the student rinsed my hair, I noticed clumps falling out. As soon as he brought me back to the chair, there were TONS of long bleached white parts of my hair hanging from the ends…I didn't panic as he assured this was normal shedding for curly hair. NO. As I watched him comb my hair, clumps continued to fall out…at this point I was in tears and begged them for a protein treatment because my hair felt like gummy mush. My hair was CLEARLY in a horrific state compared to when I first walked in, and they kept trying to reassure me that the conditioner was just "heavy" and I was just shedding.

After receiving a "complimentary" deep treatment from the teacher (complimentary?? umm so they were going to let me walk out of the salon half bald!?!?) my hair felt a bit better but it is noticeably thinner…I am devastated as I've never seen my hair succumb to bleach like this. I'm 100% sure the student left the bleach on way too long considering my prior color history. OH and did I mention it's the same color as it was when I walked in? -_-