help with the basics!

jsdollyjsdolly Posts: 3Registered Users
Hey all,
So I’m new to this whole “hair care” scene.. and trying to slowly find my way. It’s a lot of info to take in, and I’m slowly learning about my hair “properties”, as well as it’s “likes” and dislikes.
I would really appreciate some help figuring out the following:
-shampoo and condish
-leave in/ deep treatment
-protein treatment?
There are so many brands and options I don’t know where to begin!! :s

Here is a bit about my hair, what I have learned so far
it is DRY
About 6 inches of natural hair, and the rest (waist length) is dyed lighter
Type 2b/c waves
Medium/little bit coarse hair texture
The prorosity.. I am really not sure! I tried “feel test” but I can’t really tell.. I also tried the sink in water test – and it seems like the dyed part of my hair sank, but the natural part did not?
It is dry and brittle, and gets tangled very easily, and a lot falls out :(
Also if I don’t wash for a while it starts to turn into these dreadlocky twists

“likes” – coconut oil in small amounts

“dislikes” – AVC (turned my hair to straw!!)
-I tried doing a spray in water mix with treseme naturals condish and it did not help dryness
Any help and advice would be great, I really don’t know where to begin!

Comments

• i2credi2cred Posts: 80Registered Users
    I mix olive oil, aloe and a conditioning balm for an overnight deep treatment. You can also add mayo, avocado, banana and eggs. Put the foods in blender to avoid chunks. Saturate hair with the mix, put on shower cap to retain natural heat and sleep like that. It has helped my damaged hair.
  • BluebloodBlueblood Posts: 1,748Registered Users
    If your hair is dyed and the dye is permanent then your hair is very likely to be high porosity.