New here: 3a product rec and overnight plop

MissyLouMissyLou Posts: 7Registered Users
Hi! I'm new to the curly world forums. I byline be my hair to be (mostly) type 3a. I'm currently washing every other day and I usually use Herbal Essences Totally Twisted curl cream and Samy Big Curls cream, then plop overnight. I'd love to try something new and a little more natural. Something with more better frizz fighting properties and something to define my curls a bit better. I wanted to try African Pride's leave in conditioner. I'm planning an amazon order and thought I'd ask here for rec's on something to try.

Also, when I plop in a tshirt, I'm finding the front of my hair is plastered to my head the next morning and it takes some coaxing and water spritzes to get it to not be flat on my head. Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comments

• MissyLouMissyLou Posts: 7Registered Users
    😁

• SamanthascurlzSamanthascurlz Posts: 1,082Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    If you are looking for more frizz-fighting products, the best way to begin nipping that in the bud is to know your hair properties. On the main discussion threads, there are a bunch of stickies that are for beginners. Also, type in google: porosity, texture, density, and elasticity. The two most important are porosity and texture. This can give you idea of what they actually are. After that, you could opt for a hair analysis of many different places. I am sure others will correct me if I am wrong, but some companies that do hair analysis are: Komaza, theres another one but I can't remember the name :(

As far as plopping, I am wondering if maybe you're tightening it too tight? My thought process is, when you put the cloth (or whatever you use to plop) on your head, when tying it could be pushing the hair flat against your head. Then resting all night, the hair will naturally be flat. So maybe try a little looser? Or maybe a quicker plop and not overnight. Update us! :)