Weird/creepy neighboor

frankie88frankie88 Registered Users Posts: 106
So I would say I am fairly new to the appartment life. I have only lived here for a year now and this is my first appartment exprience, but it's been hell...
So the apartments are two story and I live up on the second floor. A old guy lives in the apartment under mine. He is about 60-70 years old and lives by himself.

A few months into living here, I noticed a HORRIBLE smell. It smelled like rotten garbage. It's sooo bad, it will make me gag. It just smells like mounds of year old rotting trash. I was looking all over my place to figure out where this smell was coming from, I couldn't find a thing.

Then over the summer he had his front door open and I walked by and I could smell that the stench was coming from his place and it was BADDDD it was just so bad I can't even describe how awful it was.

So I did some investigation around my place and determinded that the smell was leaking into my place through a vent in my floor. I put a rug over the vent and it kinda helps.

The thing that is weird about the smell is I don't smell it everyday. Maybe like once every two-three days. I can't figure out what he is doing to make such a horrendus smell. But it makes me sick to my stomach and I have to open all my windows to air it out, even if it's like 10 degrees outside.

ANother thing that is driving me nuts is he is always hammering something. Like it literally sounds like he is hammering something to the wall ALL THE TIME. Sometimes its he does it way late into the night and it keeps me up.

A few months ago I was awoken at night by three loud bangs coming from his apartment. They sounded like explosions? That REALLY freaked me out. I wanted to call the cops but I didn't.