How do you deal with incompetent people at work?

sixelamysixelamy Registered Users Posts: 4,157 Curl Novice
I like my job, but I swear, the majority of these people I work with are so freaking incompetent!!!

There's this lady that's been here since forever ago. Since I've gotten the job here 2 years ago, we've all proofed each other's work, minus that lady. I just assumed since she's been here, she's done great work.

Until I kept coming across the same damn mistakes over and over and over again. I point out the ones that are common to my supervisor so she can address it, but skip over the small stuff and just fix it myself. I tend to have to fix other people's stuff a lot too. But this lady in particular took the cake today an ate it too.

I work in education, and won't say what I do in particular, but I proofed this lady's work when she had a confusing workload one day. I wrote out all of the corrections, even made pictures so it was easy to follow. I told her she needs to fully write out titles and not abbreviate them. What did she do? She didn't do a damn thing!!! She submitted her work without making the corrections. And guess who got the email about it today? (I was randomly selected for it, lucky me)

I didn't know whether or not to bring this up to my supervisor, but I did, because it was such a huge mistake and I didn't want to be the one to correct ALL of it (even though I'm correcting most of it, because I don't trust her at all to do anything anymore).