Any help? Pleaseeee

melissa9melissa9 Posts: 2Registered Users
Hi, I don't mean to be any bother I'm new to naturallycurly and could really use a lot of help. I've been trying to find products, videos, and even oils to help my damaged hair and nothing seems to work. I'm not sure what my hair type is to be honest but it is extremely hard to manage. My hair is somewhat long, straighten it reaches my breast. It tangles very easily so even styling it is a problem and it gets oily quickly. Also, my hair is thin/fine which of course is the reason that some days my curl look greasy. I've had curls all my life and before damaging it, I had nice dark brown ringlets. But now my hair is frizzy and puffy. It basically doesn't even curl the same anymore. I believe its due to the damage I've done a few years back. I would get highlights every couple of months and straighten my hair daily. Now I rarely straighten it, usually only on special occassions and yet I can't seem to get back my curl pattern. I'm really desperate so please if anyone can help I would appreciate it!

Comments

• curlicious13curlicious13 Posts: 1,632Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Coconut works really well on damaged & dry hair. Since your hair gets greasy easily, find products that have coconut in it. Also, try cowashing with the deva curl cleanser. It's a no poo that will get your hair squeaky clean. To combat frizz, try using gel. Applying it from root to tip & a lot of it. If need be, use a comb to assist in this. I use a denman brush to help & I have fabulous frizz free curls.
  • Firefox7275Firefox7275 Posts: 3,750Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Welcome!

If your curl pattern has been altered for a couple of years it likely won't come back and you will need to grow out or cut out the damage.

For frizz try the Curly Girl method: particularly don't ever brush or dry comb, apply plenty of leave in conditioner to dripping wet hair, no touching whilst drying (air or diffuser).