Hello Fellow Curlies!

I've been transitioning for about three months, and it's been so amazing! My mom first relaxed my hair when I was in 3 rd grade, and I had good progress for a few years. High school hit, and then the shedding started! By the time I graduated, my hair was a *mess*. All different lengths, and my edges took an extended vacation.

It's time to get back to my roots!! I can't wait to chat with you lovely ladies!!

Comments

• zuzupetalzuzupetal Posts: 5Registered Users
    Hola curlies from the desert. I'm a long-term transitioner. It's taken four years to finally cut off the damaged, over-processed hair. My mother relaxed my sisters' and my hair for years just to tame it and keep the frizzies away. Mama did believe in deep conditioning and we only got one relaxer a year at the end of summer so our hair wasn't in bad shape overall. We just didn't know what to do with our curly hair so that it looked good. When I was about 13 I rebelled (it was the late 60s) and reversed the relaxer and wore my hair in its crazy naturalness. My parents did not approve. Eventually I started relaxing again but longed to rock my natural curls if I could just figure out how to keep the frizz at bay and bring out the best of the curl. Eventually I learned to cowash and that helped a bit as well as roller or rod sets.