The protein-moisture balance is a #[email protected]*$$!

NymeriaNymeria Posts: 11Registered Users
I am really struggling with how often to protein-load and how often to add on the moisture. I'm pretty new to this stuff too, so I've got an overload of products I bought in zealous fashion, and as a result, maybe too many choices when I go to address whatever problem arises. Lately, my dyed (and I believe, med-high porosity), medium density, quite springy 3a hair gets limp and lifeless if it's low on protein, but I deal with some crispiness because of dying and occasional heat (only a diffuser). I also think sometimes it gets too soft (like cotton candy by day 4) from over-moisturizing. If any of you have hair similar to my description, I'd be open to hearing about your cleansing/conditioning/treatment schedules. My recent routine involves DevaCurl No Poo or Jessicurl Gentle Lather Shampoo, then Curls Coconut Conditioner or CJ Beauticurls conditioner as RO, then more Curls for LI, and Curl Keeper instead of a gel (I really don't feel like I need a stronger gel hold, maybe this is a step I need to consider more). I do an occasional PT with CJ Intensive Treatment, every three-four weeks or so.

Any recommendations on how to tweak or modify this routine? I have been putting these products in with wet, not dripping wet hair, and letting air dry. Of course I wash out the PT before adding some leave in.

Comments

• NymeriaNymeria Posts: 11Registered Users
    To clarify, ack, I was still writing when this posted, I was trying to add keywords and it posted my OP. My problem is inconsistency-veering between limp, sad, deflated curls (though soft and pretty in a wavy style) and poufy, wildly different textures all over my head (but much thicker and healthier feeling to the touch). I need to find my right middle point. So that was what prompted the post. My goodness, experimenting with these products is expensive.