Big chopped and need help

kinkycoilymekinkycoilyme Registered Users Posts: 8
Hey all!!! I am new to naturally curly but have been lurking for some time. I did the big chop on Saturday 25 January 2014. Yay! However, I am having a lot of problems. My hair is dry, dry, dry. The curls at the back of my hair are really hard to define and rarely last. They only come out if I deep condition for a few hours or use warm to hottish water. I have been co washing and following the LOC method since June 2013. I currently use Vo5 tea therapy revitalizing conditioner and cantu shea butter leaving in conditioner and repair cream. My oil is olive oil and my sealant is shea butter. Also, can someone tell me my hair type. The first picture is with just the cantu conditioner. The second, third and fifth are wet with no product. The fourth is freshly washed, product free hair. As you can see from the pictures, there isn't much difference between product and no product dry hair. Please help! Thanks in advance.

Comments

• BluebloodBlueblood Registered Users Posts: 1,748 Curl Neophyte
    Buy a clarifying shampoo and use it.

Then use it once every 3-4 weeks as it sounds like you have product build up.

If you use products with lots of waxy ingredients and butters they can build up which means moisture can't penetrate your hair.

One issue with using the clarifying shampoo is that your hair may feel very dry afterwards so you may need to deep condition.

Also apart from coconut oil no deep conditioner needs to be on your hair for longer than 30 minutes otherwise you can suffer hydration fatigue. Ideally use coconut oil the night before co-washing.
  • adthomasadthomas Registered Users Posts: 5,525 Curl Neophyte