One clueless curly

ahollaaholla Posts: 2Registered Users
I've been wearing my hair naturally curly for about 7 years now with limited heat styling. I have been color treating my hair off and on during these 7 years - currently I color my hair. In these years, my hair has had good and bad times. In 2010, I was also diagnosed with Lupus which has also created some challenges/changes with my hair.

I'm fed up with my inconsistent results and want/need my hair to reach it's full potential because it is more often flat and lifeless than it is bouncy and happy. I really want to find a beginners line-up of products and learn how to use them in a new routine, but I have questions.

Tonight I have taken time to determine my hair profile:
2c/3a combo - low porosity - medium density - fine - and I wear it short

1) What is the difference between co-washing and using low poo? And which should I probably use? Both?
2) How should I condition? I know there is the rinse out method, leave-in method, deep conditioning -- but when should I use each of these for my hair type?
3) Clarifying - I have been hearing NO SULFATES for curlies, but then I have read a few threads that have people using sulfate based shampoos for clarifying? And how often should I clarify?
4) Protein treatment -- I do have flat and straw-like issues with my hair from time to time, does this mean I need to incorporate protein treatments into my routine?
5) What methods do people with a similar hair type as me use for drying, getting the best curls, etc.?
6) What chemicals should I avoid in my hair products? I have seen something about polyquats... I am overwhelmed haha.

Please help me get started to a life with healthier, happier curls! :)

Comments

• BotticelliBritBotticelliBrit Posts: 2,075Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Hi and welcome! :) Let's see if I can be of some help ...

1) What is the difference between co-washing and using low poo? And which should I probably use? Both?