hair dye recommendations for CG

twistedgirltwistedgirl Registered Users Posts: 87 Curl Neophyte
Hey guys,

I've never died my hair before and am planning to go for it in a couple weeks (unfortunately I inherited my moms premature greying genes :/). I hennaed my hair over the summer and really enjoyed the results, but found that it didn't cover my greys very well, and the process of hennaing hair is very long. My hair is super healthy right now, which is why I've been holding out in dying it because I want to keep it healthy. Buut as i mentioned, the greys are getting too much and i want to see them no longer. Being CG (and also wanting to keep my hair healthy), are there any hair dyes you can recommend? I really appreciate any recommendations as I'm new to this! I don't want to go into the store and randomly pick a brand.

Comments

• ashlyndmarieashlyndmarie Registered Users Posts: 211
    Shea moisture has a dye kit. They are an organic company so i assume their hair dye is safe. I've never tried it personally cuz Its sold in select targets not in my area. But I love their other products.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using CurlTalk App
  • curlicious13curlicious13 Registered Users Posts: 1,632 Curl Neophyte
    I hear henna is a good hair dye.
  • ashkins09ashkins09 Registered Users Posts: 75
    I also heard of shea moisture being good. Its pricey but I think its worth it. There's vegan semi and demi permanent dye that doesn't need any developer. This one I got at hottopic didn't damage my hair or nothing. It lasted longer than the permanent for me. It smells like bubble gum. It only comes in the funky colors. Since semi and demi only stain the top of the hair and won't lift the cuticle.

Sent from my SGH-T999L using CurlTalk App
    3B fine & medium, medium density,low/medium porosity, semi protein sensitive
    NP: ACV
    COWASH: Suave Naturals green apple and coconut
    RO/LI: Tresseme Naturals, Oyin hair dew
    PT/DT: Ion repair solutions, my own concoction