Henna hesitations...

sixelamysixelamy Registered Users Posts: 4,157 Curl Novice
So... I ordered some henna and amla last weekend with the intention to dye my hair sometime in the near future. Red hair would not be new to me, but I haven't colored my hair in over a year. My hair is an ashy medium brown with red and blonde highlights in the summertime. In the winter it's just blah.

My only hesitation is.. my hair grows super fast - about an inch per month. I've never used henna before, but I hear it's messy, it takes a day to prepare, and you leave it on for 2-4 hours. Is all this a pain in the butt for maintenance? It's not like my roots would blend into the rest of my hair like the color I previously dyed my hair. Not sure what to do here. I'm torn between gray hair and maintaining a color... which is worse?

Any advice or tips from any of the henna heads out there, that would be great!
2c-3a - med-coarse - normal-high porosity - high density
:bunny:
NP/LP: CJ Daily Fix, KMF Whenever / Giovanni TTTT
RO/LI: Aussie Moist, CJ Argan & Olive Oil, Hask Keratin Protein
DC/PROTEIN: KC Stellar Strands / CNPF
STYLER: CJ Curl Queen
COLOR: henna, amla & indigo
:thumbdown:: glycerin in high/low dews, polyquat-10 & 11, parabens

Comments

• JLeighsJLeighs Registered Users Posts: 904 Curl Novice
    Henna doesn't take a day to prepare unless you are using a really acidic liquid like lemon juice. I use Jamila from HennaSooq and I mix it with chamomile tea. It's ready in 2-2 1/2 hours. I leave it on my roots for 2 1/2-3 hrs because I'm going for a medium copper. I don't want it any darker than that. I do my roots every 4-6 weeks. I don't find it to be high-maintenance and I really love the color and health of my hair with henna.
    2C/3A, fine, higher porosity.
  • sixelamysixelamy Registered Users Posts: 4,157 Curl Novice
    Thanks for the reply! I'm a total newb, so pardon my questions.