The Body Bashing Revolution

Purplecurls17Purplecurls17 Posts: 152Registered Users Curl Neophyte
So, almost every time I log onto FB I am bombarded with those stupid memes that bash thin women and curvy women. It's sickening!
I am a curvier girl myself. I got boobs, booty and full hips and thighs. I used to LOATHE my body! As a 21 year old I am finally beginning to appreciate my body. I'm not obsessed with my thighs touching or if my bum can fit into a pair of Abercrombie jeans!
I recently had a coworker tell me that I needed to lose weight. At first I was taken aback, but then I placed her hands on my obliques and told her " these are solid! I am thick, not fat!"
Standing up for my body is something that I have never done before. Usually I go home and cry like a little girl lol. This is going to sound douch-y, but I kind of hate being called curvy or thick by other people because many women who are over weight call themselves curvy. I thought curvy meant that you are thicker and have fuller hips and breasts. So I instantly associate it with that.
Why is there do much body bashing!? Why do women feel the need to say hurtful things about each others bodies' ?!so sad!

Comments

• RedCatWavesRedCatWaves Posts: 31,259Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    If you're against body bashing, why are you being so bossy about who can use the word "curvy"?

You're right...it sounds douchy.
  • multicultcurlymulticultcurly Posts: 5,136Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    If you're against body bashing, why are you being so bossy about who can use the word "curvy"?

Actually curvy originally didn't mean overweight. It meant women who were hourglass or pear shaped. Now it exclusively means overweight women, even those who have no curves whatsoever.

Sent from my HTCEVOV4G using CurlTalk App
    3b/c, medium-coarse, low porosity, high density
    HG: Jessicurl Too Shea and Kinky Curly Curling Custard
    Shampoo: nonsulfate shampoo and Suave Naturals sulfate shampoo when needed