I'm a new wavy... Could you help me with a few questions? =D

kaykrekaykre Registered Users Posts: 314 Curl Neophyte
I'm new to wearing my hair wavy... I have always blown it out straight but am trying to get away from using heat. I thought going natural would be easy but it's been a challenge. Below are a few problems I've been experiencing. Any help would be greatly appreciated! If it makes a difference I think I am 2B but IDK. I have the wave pattern of a 2A but the thickness and density of a 2B/C. At the end I'll list products I've been trying and how I've been using them. Sorry this post is so long. =(

1. One of the major issues I've been having is parting. If I apply my products without parting and allow it to dry my hair looks crazy and lays funny. The hair will part naturally on it's own but not in a flattering way at all. If I part either directly before or after applying products my roots are very straight and flat. I've tried clipping and it doesn't seem to work well.

2. I really don't know when/if I am supposed to comb. I have been combing my conditioner through, rinsing, blotting, sectioning (I have a LOT of hair), and applying product and combing it through each section. I'm wondering if all of this combing is breaking up the waves. However, when I try skipping combing completely (except when conditioner is in) my hair is very matted and I cannot work product through. I feel like without sectioning and combing when I apply product it isn't properly distributed.