Oops! Silicones

gloria25gloria25 Registered Users Posts: 35
Oops! I used a smoothing product today to try to tame 2nd-day frizzies (I'm still learning), and now I wonder if I have to use something "harsher" than a sulfate-free shampoo the next time I shampoo. I have tried to give up both sulfates and silicones at the same time, but I don't know what to do if I slip up and use some silicones (I'm still going through all my products to see what's possible safe...likely none of it that I haven't purposefully bought for naturally curly method!).

I really don't want to use the Suave Professionals Rosemary Mint that I already have on hand (from before I went SLS-free:), because although I enjoy the scent, I think it had been messing with my scalp and of course, doing damage to my wavy hair. So, I'd like to pick up an inexpensive emergency shampoo that won't be too harsh that I can use when some silicones sneak their way into my hair (rarely, I hope). That is, IF you knowledgeable ladies tell me that, yes, I have to shampoo with something stronger than my new sulfate-free choice, Nature's Gate to remove silicones from my hair.

Thanks!:cat:
Started embracing the 2b waves in March 2013. I can't believe how immediate the difference, when I stopped using sulfates! Now I need guidance on most everything else. :sunny:
My best guess so far at my hair profile: 2b, medium porosity, fine and med width strands, low-to-med density, medium length.

Comments

• Geek_ChicGeek_Chic Registered Users Posts: 1,275 Curl Connoisseur