Can you grow type 4 hair without PSing?

triple_spiraltriple_spiral Registered Users Posts: 249
How necessary is PSing if your goal is longer hair? Has anyone with type 4 hair ever managed it?

Recently I decided I want to actually grow my hair (never cared about length before), ideally to APL curly, though I'll take anything past my shoulders. However I suck at protective styling.....I have tried twists and braids and it just doesn't work out - I'm not good at them and don't really like how they look on me even if they were done "right." I hate the amount of time they take and it seems Iike I end up breaking MORE hair when I attempt it. My hair is forever:

- in a wash n go, most of the time
- In a small bun with the front pinned back
- in a pony tail(bunny tail really) with the front pinned back

My hair is in layers, the shortest are only about 3 inches, the longest are at the top of my neck. Most of my hair falls between my ears and chin area (non-stretched). My question is, can I grow my hair long if I continue on like this, or will it begin to break as it gets longer? Is there some other easy PS that I'm missing - keeping in mind that I'm extremely style-challenged? I've been reading posts and boards that are length-focused for research....it seems that most women will wear a weave, wig, or keep their hair in PS like 90% of the time when they want to grow it....is that necessary for all type 4 hair??
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

4a?? Maybe 3c...some 4b??? No clue

tiny s-waves, coils, and spirals

- Cleanser: CJ Daily Fix or KC Come Clean
- Co-wash: Suave Naturals or V05
- RO: GVP Conditioning Balm or Tresemme Naturals
-Stylers: Garnier Pure Clean Gel, CJ Aloe Fix, KCCC

"I remember your childhood hair....flowin' wild at the county fair" - kelley stoltz

"and all the hours that you've been sitting at your vanity....may they carry you far from your misery" - conor oberst

Comments

• triple_spiraltriple_spiral Registered Users Posts: 249