How long did you wait before chopping the relaxed ends?

SmallFrySmallFry Posts: 614Registered Users
So I've been transitioning for a year now. And I am tempted to just go ahead and cut my hair. I guess I have around 6 inches of new growth. And I'm thinking of cutting off a few inches. (not sure how many) On the other hand I want to grow my hair out and now its about 2-3 inches above bsl. I don't know... I don't know what to do. How long did you wait to cut relaxed ends?
thanks
Lotsa 3c curls
Curly Journey Album
Updated 2009 and 2010 pics
Hair Journal/Products

It's not about having what you want, it's about Wanting what you have

Comments

• chipmunk226chipmunk226 Posts: 3Registered Users
    i was just about to post a thread with the same question :D

i have been transitioning for about 8 months, and i have about 4 inches of new growth and about 6 inches of my 'old' hair. I am wondering if it's better get get rid of the 'dead' weight and just cut to the new growth. but i'm afraid if i do that, i will be drastically limiting my style options.
  • elliemay72elliemay72 Posts: 49Registered Users
    I haven't chopped yet, but I plan to do it after about a year of transitioning. Right now I have about 4-5 inches of new growth, which I am totally in love with, but that's also a very awkward length, so I hope to gain a few more inches of new growth before I finally cave in to the chop. Good luck, ladies!
    Loving my natural 4a curls, coils and squiggles!
  • susususu Curl Connoisseur Posts: 767Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    I transitioned for about 15 months. I didn't have a particular goal in mind - just decided one day that I was ready to chop. I liked that I was able to put my hair up in a ponytail/puff, but part of me wishes I had gone for a TWA (just b/c I've never had super-short hair).
  • eccentric_kurlzeccentric_kurlz Curl Connoisseur Posts: 4,151Registered Users Curl Connoisseur