CurlTalk

The more water I leave in, the better and softer curl formation

So I've been experimenting with curly girl for several months with so-so results. My hair is wavy and fine. I was using a microfiber towel to scrunch my hair after I had put in product. But I decided to experiment yesterday and just wring it dry with my hands after I had scrunched some. After about 10 minutes, I scrunched softly with the microfiber towel just enough to make it not dripping wet. My waves/curls were softer and better formed.

Today I decided to dry it with a pillow case instead of a towel. Today I have soft curls as well.

I was scared the weight of the water would pull my hair down and make it flat, but that has not been the case. After my hair drys, I can scrunch some or rewet and get some volume. My hair is rather long too, past my shoulders.

I also want to get some clips to put in for my top.

Has anyone else discovered that leaving more water works better than less water?

Comments

• Knotty_MaddyKnotty_Maddy Posts: 518Registered Users
    My hair likes water, too :) I have been getting great results with the SuperSoaker method that Rudeechick posted...but I soak twice - once after my LI/curl spray and Denman brushing, then again after putting my curl products in - and then I go directly into a soaking wet plop for 5 mins, just to get the worst of the water out. After removing the plop, I gently scrunch a bit with a cotton t-shirt. Works great! :D

ETA if you have fine hair, please go careful with the clips! I tried that method and it did give me great root lift, but I kept tangling and breaking hair when I tried to remove them after...so I had to stop with the duckbill clips :( I am thinking of trying with jaw clips to see if they are easier to remove...
    Finer, mixed with coarser strands, low-porosity, wavy curly whirly hair...3A, 2C hair. Medium thickness, medium elasticity.
    S-shaped hair with corkscrew ends. My hair is even more confused than me ;p