accepting waves vs. forcing out curls

JoslynJoslyn Registered Users Posts: 12
Hi all, I'm new here. My hair borders between wavy and curly.

I've also been researching the whole porosity thing, but there's still much to learn. I know I have fine hair, and I'm pretty sure it's high porosity, but that's a post for a whole other board.

I've been doing CG for several years now, and have gotten Deva cuts, but I still have issues with frizzy, flyaway waves and "stringlets." Also, I am getting older now (45) and my hair is more fragile and thin than before. I used to have fine strands but a lot of them, giving me hair that was thick overall. Now I feel like my hair is fine and a bit thin as well. Yet I still have hairy arms, ack, no fair!

Lately I've been having a change of philosophy about my hair. Rather than focusing so much on clumping, maybe I should just have the healthiest waves I can get and stop trying to coax more curl. I can get spirals and clumps, but my hair is so fine, I almost think that sometimes it looks thicker not clumped.

Does that make sense? What I mean is, when it clumps, it makes my hair look thinner, because on the middle and ends, I can see empty space showing through in between the clumps.

Is anyone else here in that position: Technically capable of going over to the curly side of the spectrum, with enough time and effort, but more interested in embracing healthy waves? I think my goal is healthier, thicker-looking hair overall, not necessarily the curliest hair I can get.

Ooops, time got away from me, have to run to church. Thanks! Will research this board when I get back.

Comments

• whirlyhairwhirlyhair Registered Users Posts: 194
    Joslyn wrote: »
    Hi all, I'm new here. My hair borders between wavy and curly.

I've also been researching the whole porosity thing, but there's still much to learn. I know I have fine hair, and I'm pretty sure it's high porosity, but that's a post for a whole other board.