new and overwhelmed

raynebairraynebair Posts: 37Registered Users
Hello everyone. I just found this site today and so far am loving it.

I decided a little over a week ago I was going to try to embrace my curls. I'd always had straight or slightly wavy hair growing up, but too many years of blow-drying, straightening and relaxing my hair plus a pregnancy changed all that and now I'm a curly frizz-head. Reading up, I've decided my curl type is 3A/B.

I'm tired of having yucky frizzy hair and I don't really like the damage that straightening does to it. So I've set out to figure out how to embrace my curls and manage them.

I discovered CG and am excited to start right away. As a newbie, I decided to go simple and selected Suave Naturals and VO5 Tea Therapy as my conditioners. Then for gel, I got Herbal Essense Totally Twisted Curl Scrunching Gel. Stuff I found at the local CVS and mostly on sale. I've also got a semi-wide-toothed comb that I use for detangling in the shower.

I guess I can use my old stuff for my 5 year old daughter, who has lovely straight hair (just like her mama did at that age).

I've seen the instructions on some of the products that they are best used on soaking wet hair, but never really did it that way. I'm determined to try it this time.

Question. When you get out of the shower, how do you manage your soaking wet hair while trying to towel dry the rest of you. I can never squeeze enough water out of my hair with just my hands so that it's not dripping everywhere.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
CG since May 23, 2012
Yep, I'm a newbie!
Hispanic with 3a/b curls that did not exist when I was a child

Current Products:
Suave Naturals Everlasting Sunshine
VO5 Tea Therapy Blackberry Sage
HETT gel

Comments

• mhen76mhen76 Posts: 813Registered Users Curl Neophyte