Ugh....THRUSH.

M2LRM2LR Registered Users Posts: 8,630 Curl Connoisseur
This is my first time dealing with thrush, and E will be one in three weeks.

My nipples are sore, cracked, bleeding, NASTY. I don't see any sores/thrush in her mouth (at least when she opens it for me to look), although she has a nasty yeasty diaper rash from hell.

I've got my Nystatin or whatever, but what else can I do to make this go away faster? I am just about done with breastfeeding, so if I have to stop doing that, I will be fine with that as well, although I know it's not needed to clear up the thrush.

She got it because we just finished up 10 days of amox. for an ear infection, then another 10 days of Augmentin because the ear infection came back, but it was a double.
:rambo:

Comments

• medussamedussa Registered Users Posts: 12,993
    I hesitate to mention this, because it's a messy disaster: Gentian Violet. It works, though.

Check out this link:

Gentian Violet
  • M2LRM2LR Registered Users Posts: 8,630 Curl Connoisseur
    One of the nurses suggested that, and I have heard before that it works well.

After reading that site, though, I just hope that's what this is. I didn't know that the baby didn't have to have sores/thrush in the mouth...I figured that if I had it, then she did too.

Thanks for the link, medussa!!!
  • marielle448marielle448 Registered Users Posts: 1,823
    yup gentian violet or GSE (Grapefruit Seed Extract, sold at wholefoods). Also make sure to treat everything that comes in contact with your nipples & milk (pump parts, bottles and bottle nipples)

eta: just went to look in the herbal kids & babies book and found this:

Plain yogurt (or if the baby is dairy sensitive then apple cider vinegar) applied in the mouth and letting the baby suck it in is great too.

Adopting a yeast-reduced diet (try to stay away from yeasted breads, etc and sugars adding more rice, beans, veggies and fish in your diet until you guys clear this).