Castille liquid soap/ACV questions

WavyMermaidyWavyMermaidy Registered Users Posts: 11
Hi all...this is my first time posting on the site though I have looked up advice on here several times before joining. :)

So, I went no-poo about a year ago, using CO wash only (trial & error-ing several conditioners)...it was working well for about 9 months give or take and then my scalp decided it did not like this anymore and became horribly itchy and unruly. Reluctant to jump back on the shampoo train I did some research and started using liquid castille soap (the likes of Dr. Bronners) and ACV. I decided on castille vs. baking soda mainly for ease of use in the shower plus the benefits of added oils in the castille (my hair seems to like oils). Been on that for about 3 months, and the scalp seems happy.

I have read that things that are alkaline like castille and BS open up the cuticle, hence the need for ACV to re-acidify the hair and close up the cuticle. But, here's my question:

Is it kindof unhealthy to open up the cuticle like that, especially when one's hair already has a tendency to be quite dry (even though I don't comb/brush, heat style or process)??

I mean, after rinsing out the castille my hair feels horrible until I do the ACV rinse (that part is lovely)...although the overall end effect seems to be ok. So I wonder if that is necessary, or would it be more beneficial to do some sort of low-poo and then ACV (as I have read also that ACV is beneficial for hair in more ways than just re-acidifying)? I dunno...I'm just a little stumped as to what would be safest/most beneficial.

One thing that might be a factor is that we have hard water. I dunno how that factors in but I've seen it mentioned in other no/lo poo threads.

Thanks in advance for replies!
Traci :)
:hippy2:
3a/2c
depends on whims of the Great Hair Goddess
High density/med-high porosity
Mid back length
Low Poo Renpure Keratin or Dr. Bronners / ACV
CO Renpure (red)