Co-wash vs. baking soda & ACV

I'm new to the no-shampoo method and only started on this regimen a couple days ago. From what I've read online, I've heard about people who co-wash exclusively so they only use conditioner to wash and nothing else. I've also read about people who use baking soda and then rinse with apple cider vinegar. Is it common for people to use both methods - co-washing and baking soda/ACV? Or do people generally use one or the other?

I've also read some say baking soda is really harsh on hair so I wanted to have this info ahead of time in case I experience this and need to switch up my methods. Thanks.

Comments

• Corrina777Corrina777 Registered Users Posts: 3,204 Curl Connoisseur
    I've seen people use one or the other, a combination of the two, plus a bunch of other variations (low-poo, cleansing conditioner, occasional clarifying, etc). It comes down to what works best for your hair.

And yes, the baking soda can be harsh if it's used at high concentrations or too frequently. (The same can be said for ACV as well- make sure to dilute properly).

Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    3a/f/iii
    Modified CG since 11/5/11
    CLEANSE: CJ Daily Fix, DevaCare No-Poo, CHS Treatment Shampoo
    RO: SS Caitlin's Conditioner, CJ Beauticurls Strengthening
    LI: SS Repairing Protein Treatment, CHS Silk Leave-In
    STYLE: Re:Coil, Curl Keeper, Deva Ultra Defining Gel, Curls Rock Amplifier,Sweet Curls Elixirs Okra Gel and Hard Hold Gel, SS Curl Enhancing Jelly and Firm Hold Gel
  • cindyc8000cindyc8000 Registered Users Posts: 2
    Thanks very much for the info!
  • tots5678tots5678 Registered Users Posts: 472
    I have never used the baking soda (& bit scared to do so) but I have done the ACV rinse a few times & love the clarity in my hair.