Coloring over highlights???

jam808jam808 Posts: 25Registered Users
Hello,
I am afraican american. I have been natural and for many many years.

Last month I went drastic and I dyed and put highlights in my hair

Everyone loves it but I dont because, everytime I clip my ends the DARN hair splits again. So i feel like I will always have spit ends!

Its driving me nuts to see the ends of my hair trashy for no darn reason, and I keep getting them cut.

My hair is about 16 inches long and now its about 14 inches because I keep cutting it

I was thinking of dying my hair back to a dark color to giet rid of the highlights hoping that my hair wont split any more..

I spoke to the lady that did my hair and she said that maybe she can put a semi color in it to give the hair moisture.

Does that make since. I am still learning, So I dont know what to do

I spoke to my Aunt who does hair in NY and she ask if she used a color for african americans.

I didnt even know there was a such thing. yes I see african american on boxes at the store, but I didnt think there was really a difference

She also said she doesn know if coloring it will make it any better.

What do you all think I should do?

2m3pr0z.jpg

Comments

• CurliLocksCurliLocks Posts: 10,573Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    Recoloring your hair will not improve the condition of it. It sounds like you need some good protein treatments, followed by deep conditioning treatments. You can search the hair boards for good recommendations for PTs and DTs. :)

Now if those highlights are fading or turning brassy, you can use something gentle like Color by Robert Craig to tone them again. You would need to choose a color about 2-3 shades lighter than the highlights because they may grab the color and go too dark (being porous).

That won't improve the hair condition really, if it's that damaged, but it will not cause further damage and will keep it looking good as it grow out. Good luck!