CurlTalk

Shampooing killed my curls! Help!

HazelTesseraHazelTessera Posts: 11Registered Users
I've been co-washing for about a month now, but I'm not very good at reading product labels yet to make sure there aren't sulfates or 'cones in everything, and I was starting to notice some build-up. So yesterday I shampoo-ed in order to clarify... And my curls DIED.

Before I shampoo-ed, I had begun to even see the occasional spiral curl mixed in with my waves. This was absolutely amazing. I was doing a happy dance infront of my mirror every morning. Today, I have about an inch of curl at the bottom of my armpit-length hair. It's clean, but lifeless.

Does anyone have any advice for reviving my curls?

And how can I clarify different next time to avoid this?
  • 2b/2c, medium thickness, high density, medium porosity, protein-loving, mid-back length hair
  • Olivella Professional Conditioner & Tresemme Naturals Moisture Conditioner: co-wash / leave-in
  • Smooth 'n Shine Curl Activator Gel & Fruit of the Earth Aloe Vera Gel: styling products
  • olive oil, coconut oil, & castor oil: occasional hair / scalp treatments
  • Aveeno Skin Relief Fragrance Free Body Wash: occasional 'cone-free, fragrance free 'poo

Comments

• oh.hi.its.stephoh.hi.its.steph Posts: 640Registered Users
    Hmm, don't worry, I doubt there's any way you could've done any sort of permanent damage! :) Everyone's hair gets a little funky after clarifying. I think you just need to give them a little TLC to revive them. Maybe a deep treatment? Your curls probably just had the moisture stripped out of them.
    whurly girly (2C/3A).
    thick; medium/coarse; low porosity.
    hair that is drier than the sahara desert.

LOW-POO: Renpure Organics
    CO: L'Oreal EverCreme Cleansing Conditioner
    RO: Renpure Keratin Conditioner. New HG!
    LI: L'Oreal EverSleek Humidity-Defying LI Creme
    Styling: SM Curl Milk, Argan Oil for sealing, sometimes GFPC Gel, some honey for hold, TIGI Control Freak Serum!!