How can I remove silicone product w/o sulfate poo?

debbahdebbah Posts: 48Registered Users
Hello - I'm pretty new to CG, and before I went FULLY CG, I was using Aveda Be Curly Curl Enhancer Lotion, which I NOW discover has both Phenyl Trimethicone (which I am assuming is a silicone but haven't seen it listed as one) and a polyquat: Polyquaternium 11. Bummer too because that product really makes my curls come alive.

Anyway, I had used this in my hair before I went for my first curly hair cut at Devachan in New York two weeks ago. At Devachan they did a OC cleanse/OC condition/OC leave in, and the stylist recommended that I do the same for at least 6 weeks before going to a low-poo/no-poo (although I am loving just the co-wash so may just keep doing that).

My problem is, now that I'm on this board I'm learning about silicones, and I'm now freaking that I've been co-washing for two weeks and never did a last sulfate shampoo to get out the Be Curly product. I am not using any silicone products any more.

My hair doesn't seem any worse for wear, but I am concerned that Be Curly is basically going to be in my hair from now until forever more since I didn't do a sulfate wash. Should I do a sulfate wash just to be safe? I hate to kill all the beautiful moisture I'm just starting to build up in my curls.

Help please from you more experienced curlies! Would a baking soda/ACV get it out?
CG since September 2011

Type: 2c/3a
Texture: medium-ish
Porosity: normal to low
Density: THICK!

Co-wash: OC
Cond/Leave-in: OC
Style: MOP Curl Defining Cream, Angel, Garnier Pure Clean Gel
SOTC: MOP Glisten pomade, Aveda Humectant Pomade

Looking for: good curl definition, clumping and no frizz

http://momwhoworks.wordpress.com

Comments

• maycon55maycon55 Posts: 85Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Exactly. Do the baking soda and leave in for 2 min or so and rinse with Acv.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using CurlTalk App
    2c/3a

Texture: Medium-Fine
    Porosity: Normal