Tried to get curl enhancement - got more than I bargained for

debbahdebbah Registered Users Posts: 48
Hello!

I am relatively new to CG, about 3 weeks.

I've been experimenting with different methods of cleansing and styling. For the last week I've been co-washing every other day, then trying different styling methods, gels, etc to see what works best with my newly curly hair.

Just did my first "plop" today, and boy did I get curl enhancement, but I also got a lot of frizz.

I co-washed with OC, then applied Angel on my soaking wet hair in the shower, then "plopped" into my microfiber towel for about 20 mins. Got great clumping and curls when I took off the plop, I clipped the crown and let it air dry all day. I've been pretty good about not touching it as it dries, but I've ended up with great curl (best ever) but also tons of frizz.

What am I doing wrong?

Deborah
CG since September 2011

Type: 2c/3a
Texture: medium-ish
Porosity: normal to low
Density: THICK!

Co-wash: OC
Cond/Leave-in: OC
Style: MOP Curl Defining Cream, Angel, Garnier Pure Clean Gel
SOTC: MOP Glisten pomade, Aveda Humectant Pomade

Looking for: good curl definition, clumping and no frizz

http://momwhoworks.wordpress.com

Comments

• kathymackkathymack Registered Users Posts: 9,999 Curl Neophyte
    You may want to try a flour sack or Curlease towel (or old cotton tee shirt) as microfiber can cause frizz.

Many of us start out with Deva and think we like it, then move on to other things and never look back--especially since they changed ingredients a few years ago.
    3a (Corkicelli), highlighted, fine, low porosity
    SE PA

HGs: Anything Sevi; Curly Kinks Satin Roots, Curlycue ReNew and Coil Jam; homemade FSG and okra gel; soap bars; UFD Curly Magic; Botanical Spirits Jellies, CJ Repair Me, Aloe Fix
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • debbahdebbah Registered Users Posts: 48
    Thanks kathymac - I may have to commandeer one of hubby's old t-shirts and try that next.