Curious about Ouidad products

I'm trying to be CG, currently using Ouidad products, and going to a Ouidad-curly salon. Results are great, so far!

But then I saw that the Curl Quencher shampoo has ammonium laurel sulfate, and the conditioner has amodimethicone. Doesn't sound CG to me.

My hair is naturally dry, probably 3b/c. How much damage am I doing?
Total Newbie!
Hair: Dry, coarse, porous, 3b/c, dense, and strong-willed

Found a Ouidad salon!
Carve/Slice really lightened up my curls
Hair's really dry - need regular DT
Conditioner got the tangles out!

Results:
Improving

Comments

• Morgan_AdcockMorgan_Adcock Posts: 2,573Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Right, Ouidad products, for the most part are not CG. It's a different approach to curls and curl care.
    Peace,
    Morgan

Baby Fine 3B, low porosity, normal density and elasticity
    CGing since July 2008
  • JoliePoetiqueJoliePoetique Posts: 178Registered Users
    I liked Ouidad, but over time, I felt the cone build up. My hair was hard as a rock. I washed with a sulfate and used all natural conditioners and my hair was never softer. At that point I knew I wouldn't go back and was so glad that I used them up. They did help with the frizz, though.
    3c/4a, low porosity
    Detangler: Whole leaf AVJ
    Shampoo: Kinky Curly Come Clean
    Rinse Out Conditioners: Trader Joe Nourish Spa or V05 MM
    Leave In Conditioner: KCKT, Elucence MB
    Deep Conditioner: Add honey and olive oil to any conditioner
    Moisturizers: QB Burdock Root or Amla Heavy Oil
    Stylers: Kinky Curly Curling Custard, Eco Custard (eco styler gel + olive oil), Jane Carter Curl Cream :thumright:
    Oils: Olive, jojoba, coconut
    Butters: NONE! :sign6::puker:
  • Lucky CharmLucky Charm Posts: 1,250Registered Users
    I used Ouidad products at first, but for my med/coarse hair I got protein overload. As mentioned, Ouidad does not fall within the CG outline because of the sulfates and silicones.