Going through CG withdrawls, need help

Hey All,
Im new to the whole CG thing. I've used silicone all my life without realizing it. So here I am today with very porous hair that refuses to curl as much as it used to ( do to me applying 430 degree heat to my hair everyday,trying to keep it straight) anywho! Im in my third week of CG. My hair is come along way, no longer dry and brittle but soft, almost to soft. That's one of my problems. The real issue i'm having is finding products that do what my Curls Rock curl amplifier used to do, which was highly defined curls that bounced and were just beautifully shiny. I want that look and since I've gone over to the CG method, I havent been able to find a product that has done that. Therefore, Im debating on going back to using products with silicone in it but then again having to deal with shampoo. I guess I need some reassurance. I'm assuming my hair doesnt look as good as it once did because of the damage and so it really has little to do with the products. I just need some help please. Anybody!:icon_smile:
By the way, Im a 3b and I've tried kccc,kcnt,Curls, aveda's curl line

Comments

• HeadDressHeadDress Registered Users Posts: 68
    Hi there and welcome! ;-)

I'll try to help and hopefully others will chime in!

Have you done a PT? With any sort of heat/ chemical damage done to the hair protein is gd for restoration. It also helps with porosity issues as well I believe.

As far as products you've been using- I'm not familiar with ingredient list for Curls or Aveda but I do know that the Kinky Curly line is protein free. Not to say that you need to load up on protein, it's just that if all you're doing is moisture and you need some protein, what your styling with could be contributing to your dissatifaction. Maybe once you do a PT you make like these btr.

What are you cowash with? What is your routine? What techniques do you use? This info will help us help you :-)
    LI: Suave Coco, KCKT, EVCO I Gel: LALSG