Someone told me your hair can only grow to be a certain length

ArJay1230ArJay1230 Registered Users Posts: 14
I just had someone try to explain to me that there's such thing as having a "terminal hair length" and that your hair will only grow to be a certain length which is dependent on your genetics. A. That is the most ridiculous thing i've ever heard and B. Who was the person who thought of this?

When i tried to explain to this girl that it's not true and as long as you're living and breathing, have a good diet, and take care of your hair, your hair and nails will grow (and even after you're living and breathing). She became extremely annoyed and mad. I don't understand how someone can think that's logical and become so angry about it.

Comments

• supersoupsupersoup Registered Users Posts: 50
    I think she's at least partially correct, although I'm no expert. Here's a link on the human hair growth cycle: Human hair growth - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Someone with more knowledge can probably expand on that, but I know what she said is true for body hairs (as opposed to head hairs). It's the reason we don't have, say, 5 inch long hair on our arms (and thank goodness for that!).
    Hair type: 3a (Botticelli)

First DevaCut on 8/10/11 and my hair looks great!

Products:
    DevaCurl No Poo
    DevaCurl One Condition
    Suave EverSleek DT
    Still trying to find the perfect styling routine using AnGel, LA Looks Sport, and FOTE AVG.
    Just purchased KCCC and excited to test it out!
  • KaijahKaijah Registered Users Posts: 69
    That's actually true. Hair has the anagen stage, the growing stage, lasting around 7 years but this varies from person to person based on their genetics. How much they grow in that time is also determined by their genes.
    Next comes the catagen stage, metabolic activity slows significantly, essentially a transition phase lasting a few weeks where the hair bulb migrates to the surface of the skin.