Overwhelmed and lost

LuvinCurls80LuvinCurls80 Posts: 28Registered Users
So, I'm here, trying to fall in love with my curls again :)

It's always been a love/hate relationship. I am loving my length, color and strength of my hair. However, I am not fond of the curl pattern, texture (seems to be extremely course in the crown area) and drier than ever before. For the record, I have thick, course, and porous hair, I deep condition once a week as I wash and diffuse my hair every morning (I work in the banking industry and going in with my hair wet or even damp is not an option for me right now).

Now, I don't know what curl type I am since the site is pretty new to me and somewhat confusing with it comes to curl types. However, I have attached a picture to see if any ladies can assist in relating it to theirs and maybe give me some insight as to what works for them.

Right now, I use L'Oreal sulfate free products to wash and condition. I use macadamia oil leave-in conditioner. For styling items, I use TIGI Curls Rock with a mix of Fredrick Fekkai Luscious Curls or I will use Suave Captivating Curls.

As of now, the combo of TIGI and FF have been my best bets, but even then I don't feel that they give my curls a fighting chance to be the beautiful luscious bouncy curls that I know I could have :)

Any help from you lovely ladies would be greatly appreciated :)

265105_2136428807114_1137922116_2677071_2784645_n-1.jpg

Mari and Alex-2.jpg

Comments

• IAgirlIAgirl Posts: 2,540Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    The "curl type" is overwhelming, but you've nailed the really important stuff - that your hair seems porous and dry.
    Here is a link to learn more about your hair's needs: Live Curly Live Free - Home
    Curl type is good to know, but in order to get your curls or waves or what have you in into their best condition, you need to really understand your hair's properties and learn how it responds to various things you do to it.