Tips for Flat Ironing Transitioning hair

hippiedollhippiedoll Posts: 398Registered Users
I'm getting a flat iron this week and I'm new to using hair straightening hot tools. I haven't had my hair straightened with a hot tool since I was a little girl. I won't be flat ironing my hair often maybe twice a month or for a special occasion. I always use a heat protectant and never directly or indirectly style my hair with high heat. Are there any tips to avoid damaging both textures of hair?
Products I'm currently :love10::
  • Karen's Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia (Vanilla Latte scent)
  • Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Style Milk
  • Certified Organic Coconut Oil
  • Karen's Body Beautiful Heavenly Jojoba Oil
Staple Deep Conditioners: Giovanni Direct Leave-in and Karen's Body Beautiful Luscious Locks Hair Mask :love5:
Recent newbie to the Curly Girl Method
6 months post relaxer. I will be 7 months post September 17 !! :occasion9:

Comments

• Flower princessFlower princess Posts: 608Registered Users
    hippiedoll wrote: »
    I'm getting a flat iron this week and I'm new to using hair straightening hot tools. I haven't had my hair straightened with a hot tool since I was a little girl. I won't be flat ironing my hair often maybe twice a month or for a special occasion. I always use a heat protectant and never directly or indirectly style my hair with high heat. Are there any tips to avoid damaging both textures of hair?