ADD?

ninja dogninja dog Registered Users Posts: 23,780 Curl Neophyte
My 11 year old niece has just been diagnosed with ADD. Her parents are strongly considering switching her to a less academically rigorous school, as a result. Many of the other students in her class are a year older than she, so she finds herself competing with bigger, more mature students.

She has always seemed very steady and smart. Certainly out of all of the kooky members of my small but eccentric family, she's by far the most normal.

Is this a big deal? I hear about ADD and ADHD and the like, but I have no experience with it. No one who wasn't outright bonkers was considered "off" back when I was her age (including the kid who used to steal my snow boots every g-damned morning in order to get the attention of someone chasing her through the whole effing school before class).

I don't know if they're planning on medicating her. My brother and I have always felt that since our own childhoods were such a mess, we would do our best to see that my niece and nephew had a better time of it, so it makes me sad to realize she's facing a bump in the road.

I know it could be a lot worse, and I'm sorry if this sounds whiney or whingey (sp?). I have no experience as a parent, so feedback from others would be welcome.

TIA

Comments

• subbrocksubbrock Registered Users Posts: 8,212
    how big a deal it is depends on a lot of different things.
    i have a few close friends and family members with ADHD and the severity ranges and treatments have varied as well. i suspect my daughter has ADHD and since researching the topic of ADHD and ADD i've come to realize that there is a 99% chance that i have an undiagnosed case of ADD. as an adult, i'm not sure if i'm going to do anything about my ADD (medication, therapy) but i do try to implement some of the lifestyle tips for reducing how it effects my daily life.