Do you Low Porosity Girls like deep conditioning?

blackcat10071blackcat10071 Posts: 66Registered Users Curl Neophyte
I've heard a lot of people saying that they love to DC about once a week. But I also noticed that a lot of recipes for DC's contain a lot of protein. Isn't protein bad for low porosity hair? Sorry if that's a stupid question, I'm new to knowing that I'm low porosity, and don't know much about it.
Also, do DC's help moisturize hair?

Comments

• adthomasadthomas Posts: 5,525Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    I'm LP and I have to say my hair likes protein but only certain types of protein. Coconut milk and yogurt treatments are a no-no for me, but mayo works well. That said I HAVE to follow with a moisturizing DC
    Yes, it's real. No, you can't touch it. :wav:
  • lisasandlisasand Posts: 71Registered Users
    I think it's people with low porosity and fine hair that can do protein treatments. I have low porosity hair but medium texture and my hair doesn't like protein. I had my hair analysis done with livecurlylivefree, which recommended that for my hair texture I do deep treatments and not protein treatments. I used Curl Junkie rehab with a heating cap.
    Hair analysis results - medium texture, low porosity and normal elasticity.
    Shampoo: Giovanni tea tree triple treat
    Conditioner: Giovanni 50:50
    Co-wash: Suave naturals waterfall mist or wildcherry blossom
    Gel: Loving flax seed gel!
    Henna - yemeni henna and indigo from hennasooq
  • IAgirlIAgirl Posts: 2,540Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Fine, low porosity hair often LOVES protein. It gives fine hair a boost, it adds shine and elasticity (hair's ability to hold a curl).
    On the other hand, my fine, low porosity hair cannot tolerate deep conditioning treatments other than a pre-shampoo oil treatment.