No-poo makes hair kind of clumpy?

shroomshroom Registered Users Posts: 5
I have 3a hair and recently attempted to go no-poo. However, using only conditioner made my hair kind of rough and clumpy. It was no longer soft and I didn't even want to feel it because it felt disgusting even after I had just washed it.

At first I thought it was because I wasn't completely washing out my conditioner, but I've now tried a few times, being extra-careful to wash it all out, and it still gets clumpy. I'd love some ideas about what I'm doing wrong. Or maybe my hair just isn't meant to go no-poo?

Thanks in advance! :)

Comments

• moomoomoomoo Registered Users Posts: 15
    I'm a total newb at this, too, so I'm sure a much wiser, more experienced cg will show up soon to give us sage advice :)

Until then, have you tried applying different products or applying them in a different order? I just started no poo, but I already noticed that different products produce a big different in my hair quality. Also, what I do with my hair (like while it's drying, whether or not I comb it, etc.) has a big affect on how it looks and feels. If your hair isn't feeling soft, maybe you need to try a different conditioner or a different leave in conditioner? Maybe a special rinse or treatment would take away the stiffness that you're feeling?

As for the clumpiness, I'm jealous. I feel if I can only get my hair to clump, I'll eliminate most of my current frizz problem!

I say keep at it, try new things, experiment a bit...
  • shroomshroom Registered Users Posts: 5
    I've actually tried a couple different conditioners to try and solve my problem, but none of them really seemed to make a significant difference. I'll try to look into special treatments for my hair, though.

Oh, and don't be at all jealous of my hair's clumpiness... It's not at all like what I see in the beautiful hair around this forum. It just feels kind of gross and blech, which is the problem.

Thanks so much for your help!