Possible to get pregnant with little to no cervical fluid?

MagpieMagpie Registered Users Posts: 39
My husband and I have been trying to get pregnant for about 9 months, and I've been charting my temps for the past 6 months. Unfortunately, I have little to no apparent cervical fluid. (I read Taking Charge of Your Fertility a couple of years ago and realized the issue then, so this isn't a new problem).

I saw my gynecologist recently for my annual exam and mentioned my concern to her. She told me that cervical fluid isn't really all that important and it's kind of an old-fashioned idea. However, everything I've read indicates that cervical fluid is vital to conception. She gave me info on a nearby fertility clinic and the clinic's website even mentions the tests they do to check cervical fluid.

So I'm wondering...has anyone managed to conceive in the apparent absence of egg-white cervical fluid? Also, if anyone knows of any websites/resources that confirm my doctor's statements, I'd be appreciative. I can't find any...

Comments

• AmnerisAmneris Registered Users Posts: 15,117
    Have you checked for it internally as well as externally?

Are all your other fertility signs indicating that you ovulate?

With this second pregnancy, I barely had any EWCM before I conceived because I had JUST finished nursing and I was dry the entire time I nursed. I didn't really TTC while nursing but also didn't try not to get pregnant that hard so a few times the timing could have been right for a pregnancy and once or twice I thought I might have been, but I never was and I think it was the lack of fluid, because literally the month my son weaned, I conceived (we did also TTC hardcore that month) and I started noticing small patches of EWCM, but nothing like I had before #1. So I clearly needed some, but it didn't take much.

Have you tried Robitussin? Drinking more water? Avoiding anti-histamines?