Greasy hair, itchy dry scalp?

Eden1071Eden1071 Registered Users Posts: 5
Hi, I started CG about 1 month ago, and it was going fine but then my scalp started getting itchy/dry/ flaky and my hair looks greasy.

I am using Suave coconut natural as a co-wash and garnier triple nutrition as the other conditioner.

I have used the brown sugar scrub several times which helps a little with the itch for that day.
Any suggestions?

Comments

• wavynwild16wavynwild16 Registered Users Posts: 2,121
    Your scalp could be sensitive to an ingredient in the conditioner. I am no expert on that subject (currently trying to figure out my own newly-discovered sensitive scalp!), but you might want to try getting a new CO-washing conditioner and experimenting with a few to see which ones don't react with your scalp. I know VO5 conditioners are full of chemicals, so I would stay away from those, but you might want to try more natural products.

I am not sure this is the formula you have (since they changed it really recently), but the ingredients should be somewhat similar.

Water (Aqua), Cetyl Alcohol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Potassium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Distearyldimonium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, Glycerin, 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1,3-Diol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Propylene Glycol,Trocopheryl Acetate [Vitamin E Acetate], Silk Amino Acids, Honey, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Extract

The ones highlighted in bold could be causing you problems. Some people are sensitive to fragrances in their products, some are glycerin and protein sensitive, and Propylene Glycol could be causing the itch, too.

Also, I started a thread on this topic recently, and I got lots of great answers and recommendations. Here's the link:

http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/2/119724-greasy-dry-scalp-possible.html

HTH!