This seems to work - is it going to damage my hair?

AlycatAlycat Posts: 58Registered Users
My very fine hair has never, ever liked styling product used more than twice in succession. Even CG stuff washed out with sulphates still seems to linger and make it sticky. I recently realised two of the three products I like are basically leave-in conditioners with a bit of hold - Pink Boots and Cotton Seed Curl Boost. So I've been alternating - one wash I follow with a styler but no conditioner, the next wash I follow with conditioner but no styler. My hair looks pretty good and feels clean - I hate it when it's gungy.

Am I right in thinking the Boots and the Cotton Seed are moisturising? I reckon I can read labels these days but I'm no expert. Do you think my hair will be OK with this routine long-term?

And, I really like KY gel on my hair but it makes it VERY sticky on the second day. I've been using conditioner under it because I thought glycerin was a humectant not a moisturiser - any opinions on whether I could safely use it alone?

Comments

• wavynwild16wavynwild16 Posts: 2,121Registered Users
    Any curl cream is semi-moisturizing (at least 99% of the time).

Your routine sounds fine! Good luck. Hope it continues to work. :)
    Type 2c/3a with lots of hair and a super sensitive scalp! Med/slightly coarse texture, low porosity and elasticity.

Favorite...
    Low poo: Organix TTM, Essential Wholesale Free & Clean
    RO/LI: TN, GFTN, YTC
    Stylers: EcoStylers, GF Curl Shaping Gel, Aussie Aussome Volume Mousse & Instant Freeze Gel, GFPC, LALNC, La Bella Lots of Curls, Apricot Oil, KMFUM, AO B5DG
    Extras: sugar scrubs, AVG washes, pre-poos with EVCO, oiling scalp before washes, plopping, gelatin PT.
    Mod-CG since 12/1/10! :happy7:
  • AlycatAlycat Posts: 58Registered Users
    Thanks Wavy - I'll keep doing it then until my hair tells me to do something different. Perhaps my hair just doesn't need very much moisturiser.