Thinking about getting a perm

Dena80Dena80 Posts: 7Registered Users
Hi! I've been lurking a while and have gone mostly CG with low-poo for quite a few months now. But I just now joined. My problem is that I have a lot of hair that is a lot straighter than my canopy. My "under-canopy" (don't know the right word) is barely wavy at all.:sad10: And since I'm a nurse, and I tend to wear my hair up a lot...my hair loses the curl and gets a lot straighter after I take it down. This wouldn't bother me as much if it weren't for the hair that is straight naturally!! I have layers cut in my hair to thin it out because it used to be really thick. I had a baby in May and I lost a LOT of hair afterwards and it isn't replacing itself so far. So, the longest part of my hair seems to be the straightest. I realize it could be the weight...but I don't really think so. Cuz part of the length is 2C and then the rest is barely even 2A. It looks like I had a relaxer in it that has grown out.

So, to solve all my problems, I've been thinking about getting a perm. But I'm not really sure yet cuz I don't want to cause a lot of damage. For the first time in my life, I don't have dead ends!! I know I can just have them trimmed...and I plan to take care of my hair totally CG or mostly CG. But I also want the curls close to what I already have...although I wouldn't mind having 3A curls. What do you all think?

Comments

• IAgirlIAgirl Posts: 2,540Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Back in the 80s when my mom made me get perms at a salon, they fried my hair. I have fine hair which has low porosity (especially when I was a kid) and so they really had to load on the chemicals to break the hair down in order to perm it.
    When I was a teen I did some home perms which were milder and therefore either didn't "take" or didn't last, but also did not fry my hair into a dull, straw-like mess.
    So it helps to know more about your hair, check out this website: Live Curly Live Free - Curly Hair Basics