All day curls? Is there such a thing?

ShalolaShalola Posts: 13Registered Users
Hi everyone! I'm still new to all of this but have been CG for almost 2 weeks now.

I'm a 3a (I think), fine textured but lots of it. My routine is pretty basic:
Co-wash: Suave coconut conditioner
RO: Biolage Conditioning Balm
LI: CJ LI (just received this in the mail on Friday and so far, so good)
Some sort of curl activator (still testing stuff out)
Homemade FSG

Here's my question...How do you keep your curls looking good all day? That's always been my problem...everything looks okay but by noon, my hair is limp, flat and kind of gross.

I know I should be patient because my hair feels so much better already and my curls look better (before they go flat). I haven't seen anything about hairspray, so I'm assuming that's a no-no. Is there something I'm missing or do I need a more zen approach?

TIA
Shalola

Comments

• kimmiisankimmiisan Posts: 46Registered Users
    Using three different styling things would really weigh my hair down, so maybe that's it?? I've never found that my hair gets flatter as the day goes on.. In fact, it normally starts off a bit flat when it's wet and improves as it dries.

I'd try using less stuff - like, choose one or two of your products and stick with those.. and don't mess with it while it's drying. Other than that I'm clueless.
    CG since June 2010.
    3a, normal (edging on high) porosity, medium texture.
    Still not settled on products. :(

• Fusilli66Fusilli66 Posts: 296Registered Users
    Gel!

I have found Gel to be the best way to get my hair to look as good at 9 am as it does at 9 pm. There are some good inexpensive CG gels out there. I personally like LA Looks Sports Gel, Herbal Essences Set me up (hard hold) or Herbal Essences Totally Twisted (medium hold). There are plenty more out there but those are my faves.