Have Question about hard water....

valgirlakvalgirlak Registered Users Posts: 1
Hi Im a newbie to your site...had curly hair 40 + years....I moved into a house with a well about 4 years ago them moved again in to a house with well that has really really hard water about 2 years ago....Im here forever. I have noticed a difference in my hair lately its less lively. I know my hair pretty good and wonder if it might be the water??? I was on vacation last week (hawaii) and used city water and swam in the ocean and it seemed to make a bit of difference??? Does anyone know anything about how hard water effects your hair?? Anna

Comments

• geckogecko Registered Users Posts: 313
    My well water is very hard even though it goes through a water softener. It also has a sulfur smell. Sometimes the white residue that sticks to our stainless steel kitchen sink is quite thick, depending on the time of year (water table level, I imagine) or water pump/softener maintenance. When I first moved here (away from city water), I thought my hair was getting increasingly frizzy because of my age. I tried most grocery store frizz products with only mild success. Then I thought my child had inherited my frizzy hair. My skin and my husband's scalp (er..skin) often itched after we showered.

Well, one day I got a $20 shower water filter from Home Depot... My frizz calmed down a bit, my girl's long fine hair was smooth, and we all itched less. I was so hopeful that I might some day have "normal" hair and not sticky straw that I got a good haircut (hadn't in several years) and went Curly Girl.

The shower filter was the best $20 spent on my family's hair and skin. I also got a gooseneck showerhead so we could have filtered water baths!