Transitioning Question

So I have 3b hair, and I've decided to transition from my normal routine to CG. I got the Jessicurl travel pack to use, figured I could try out a whole line for less money, and I'm traveling around a lot over the next month so it'd be convenient.

I've read Laura Lee's guide to going CG. I thought I was ready but then I read the part about using 2 conditioners. She recommends cowashing with a light silicone free conditioner and then using a thicker conditioner (ie garnier triple nutrition).

The travel pack came with the "too shea! extra moisturizing conditioner." Can I use this as a cowash or would it be the thicker conditioner? Any other tips anyone can give me? Thanks!

Comments

• wavynwild16wavynwild16 Posts: 2,121Registered Users
    I'm new to CG, too, but from skimming over lots of threads and posts, I'd say that the conditioner you got would be way too heavy to CO-wash with. You'd be better off using the Too Shea as your rinse out (abbreviated "RO") conditioner, or you'll run into greasy scalp and limp, weighed-down hair problems. Something cheap and not too heavy would be good to CO-wash with, like VO5 or Suave. You might know this already (I figured I'd tell you, though, because it's pretty important), but you shouldn't use any products that contain silicones in them. They end in -cone, -conol, or -xane.

Anyway, good luck with your CG transformation! Report back and tell us how it's going! :D
    Type 2c/3a with lots of hair and a super sensitive scalp! Med/slightly coarse texture, low porosity and elasticity.

Favorite...
    Low poo: Organix TTM, Essential Wholesale Free & Clean
    RO/LI: TN, GFTN, YTC
    Stylers: EcoStylers, GF Curl Shaping Gel, Aussie Aussome Volume Mousse & Instant Freeze Gel, GFPC, LALNC, La Bella Lots of Curls, Apricot Oil, KMFUM, AO B5DG
    Extras: sugar scrubs, AVG washes, pre-poos with EVCO, oiling scalp before washes, plopping, gelatin PT.
    Mod-CG since 12/1/10! :happy7: