Bleaching; How to

Jelly.ViJelly.Vi Posts: 103Registered Users
So Before anything, i'd like to say im NOT a professional, and by no means take any resposibility to any wild crazy mess you make with your hair. This is just a sort of 'guideline'. Im but a mere teenager who's been dying and bleaching her hair for the past 2 years. And this is just some of the useful info ive gathered. My aunt who has been a stylist for 10+ years, and works with the kinky curlies up in new jersey also gave me some of the advice stated beelow.

Once again, IM AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL, THESE ARE GUIDELINES. Do's and dont's, as well as personal experience. Change as needed, if you have anything useful to add, please post below, and ill add it to the list(:

Anyways, a few things about bleaching:
Bleaching strips the hair of colors, while dyes put the color in the cuticle. When i think of bleach, i think of sulfate shampoo. Its like sulfates on steroids. It blows holes into your cuticle, makes it dry, frizzy. Its SO stripping that it even sucks the color out of your hair. Super sulfate. So really think about it, before playing around. I think thats a pretty good analogy :D

Before, During, And After:

Before: CONDITION AND REPAIR.
Like there was no tmrw! Your hair should be in the best possible shape you can get it! PT if it needs it. DT like there was no tmrw guys. Cant put enough emphasis on this. If your hair is an inch away from snapping/breaking off, and you stick bleach on it, you might as well wave byebye!

During: A lot of people use a protein filler before processing. It helps fill in any existing 'holes' to make absorption even, and help protect the hair. Here's the one i use: http://www.sallybeauty.com/Neutral-Protein-Filler/CLRFUL1,default,pd.html?cgid=Hair05-07

After youve done the protein filler, youre ready to add the bleach! Which brand? What volume developer?

Here's where auntie dearest came in.