Could someone please explain the clarifying method?

Hello! I am sure there have been numerous threads in regards to this, but I can't seem to find the right thread that answers my question?? Perhaps you could refer me to one or something? I'm a newbie to this. :D

Anyways, I recently starting going shampoo-less and so far it seems to be working...I use the anti-breakage V05 conditioner, and it seems to really help my hair. I had a question about "clarifying" though to prevent build up? What exactly is this process? And how often should it be done? Should it be done every time I co-wash? Also what exactly should I use to clarify my hair? Are there any products or recipes? And do you simply message the product in like a shampoo?

I read that some people actually use regular shampoos to clarify? That didn't make sense to me as I thought you had to go shampooless?
I'm so confused! Is it okay to use shampoo once in awhile while doing this? If so, what shampoo??

Thank You!

Comments

• Morgan_AdcockMorgan_Adcock Registered Users Posts: 2,573 Curl Neophyte
    I clarified just before I started CG using a very strong non-sulfate shampoo. I clarified again after something (I think a combination of polyquaterniums) built up on my hair, and I used the same very strong non-sulfate shampoo, then, when I realized that hadn't shifted the buildup, with a baking soda cleanse followed with a dilute lemon juice rinse (most people use apple cider vinegar). I've been CG for over two and a quarter years. I live in a very hard water area.