Did your hair get really greasy when first trying CG?

DolphinDolphin Registered Users Posts: 329
When I tried no shampoo the first time, my hair got really greasy. My mom said it's because when you stop using shampoo the natural oils in your hair/scalp come up. Did your hair look greasy when you first started CG? If so, how long did it take to not be greasy? I gave up on full CG because of this. Thanks.
Some 2b in the back, mostly (using FIA) 2c/F/iii.

Fine hair, normal porosity, and normal elasticity.

I'm still new to this CG stuff, so ANY tips you could give me are appreciated. :)

I have Celiac Disease, which means I can't eat or use products with wheat in it.

Formerly known as curlygirl92 and mixofwavescurls

Comments

• MimsTXMimsTX Registered Users Posts: 3,482 Curl Neophyte
    I think it's pretty normal to be a little greasy when first starting out on CG. Some people's hair adjusts REALLY quickly and it's only the first week or so. Others seems to take a little longer to get used to the system.

It's not so much that NOT using shampoo brings the oils out, as it is that your hair is USED to you using shampoo. IE, it's used to you stripping the strands of their natural oils and it overproduces to compensate. As long as you're shampooing, that's not a huge problem. But the second you stop stripping the hair, you really notice the extra oil. The good news is, most people see a noticable difference when their hair starts to adjust. For some people though, fullon CG just isn't the right solution for them *shrug*

So I'd say give it a few weeks and see if you notice any improvement. If you don't, or if it gets worse, then you know you probably need to use a gentle shampoo every now and then to get the oils under control. Maybe after doing that for a little while your hair would be better on CG as well... hard to say. Everyone's different :)
    CG/Mod CG (soap bars) since 8/12/08