If you have chemo, does your hair eventually always return to the hair texture it was

before chemo?

I'm not currently getting chemo, but I have a high chance of getting cancer later in life, which would probably result in chemo. I don't want to lose the texture of hair I have now, but if my hair were to come back in straight or some such (if I ever did have to have chemo) would it return to the texture it was before chemo eventually, or would it stay straight forever or whatever it grew in as?
And yes, I know I'm overworrying, and my life more important than hair, haha. But just want to know. Thanks!
Some 2b in the back, mostly (using FIA) 2c/F/iii.

Fine hair, normal porosity, and normal elasticity.

I'm still new to this CG stuff, so ANY tips you could give me are appreciated. :)

I have Celiac Disease, which means I can't eat or use products with wheat in it.

Formerly known as curlygirl92 and mixofwavescurls

Comments

• multicultcurlymulticultcurly Posts: 5,136Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    I've never had cancer or chemo, but like you, I have an extremely high chance of cancer; most of my mother's paternal relatives so far have died of cancer. From the people that I have known who've survived chemo, it takes the hair on average two to four years to return to a similar texture before chemo.
    3b/c, medium-coarse, low porosity, high density
    HG: Jessicurl Too Shea and Kinky Curly Curling Custard
    Shampoo: nonsulfate shampoo and Suave Naturals sulfate shampoo when needed
  • Lucky CharmLucky Charm Posts: 1,250Registered Users
    I've had chemo, although not so intensive that I lost all my hair. I was on Tarceva for 9 months and I lost about 60-70% of my hair.