Ever just feel like giving up?

It seems that a lot of you are seeing improvments in your hair pretty soon after going cg. I've been doing this for a few years now and, while my hair is probably healthier than it was 2-3 years ago, I'm still sort of embarassed for myself whenever I leave the house. I keep returning to this website wanting to be inspired by everyone's stories of triumph, but it's actually kind of depressing, seeing how much you've all improved in such short amounts of time, and then having to look at my own hair in the mirror. It doesn't look anything like any of yours. I'm beginning to wonder if I should just shave my head and buy a wig. I've struggled with my hair all my life, and it's seeming more and more like a lost cause. Has anyone ever had similar sentiments...?

Comments

• curlypearlcurlypearl Posts: 12,228Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    funshine, I'm feeling that way right now. For me, a lot depends on the weather.

At least we have hair! I hope that doesn't sound stupid. I have a girlfriend who is going really bald in places due to PCOS so I remind myself of that when I get discouraged.

Maybe post your routine and see if some of the very experienced curlies can make suggestions. You're not alone in your feelings but maybe some changes to your routine will make the bad days less bad and hopefully, you'll get some really good days. Good luck to you (and me). :toothy4:
    2/c Coarse hair med. density.
    Highly porous. Color over grey.
    I love all the Curl Junkie products. Still experimenting with gels and curl creams. Still hoping for 2nd day hair....
    Every day is a gift :flower:
  • kwillikwilli Posts: 53Registered Users
    Ponytails are my best friend. Unless I spend at least an hour on my hair every day (which I'm not willing to do) it turns into a frizzy mess. I would say my hair looks nice 3 days out of the month.

You're not alone!

Type: 2b/3a, fine, thick, med. porosity
    Hate: My frizzy, curl-less canopy