do you leave in conditioner or rake in and rinse out?

I'm somewhat confused.. so do you find it better to rake conditioner into your hair then in the shower let it rinse out?
or do you get out of the shower and then rake in conditioner and leave it in throughout the day?

atm i basically scrunch in cond when i get out of the shower, and this allows me to brush my hair with ease.
i only use a smidge of cond though otherwise it weighs my hair down, so is it better to rake cond into my hair in the shower, and i'd still be able to brush my hair with ease after? would this be more moisturising for my hair or something?
Leave in/rinse out:
Tresemme naturals conditioner
Boots curl creme
Co wash:
Original source conditioner
Garnier fructis repair&shine conditioner

Comments

• robinbethsrobinbeths Posts: 171Registered Users
    Gosh, I'm pretty new to this, but find that Devachan's advice about applying condish in the shower and rinsing SOME of it out is super important for my hair. In fact, when I rinse out too much conditioner, I can always tell the difference. Now, I don't know if scrunching it into your hair after the shower accomplishes the same purpose, but I do like raking it in, and then rinsing JUST until I all feels like "seaweed" in my hair. I know my hair is coated WELL that way and I haven't missed any spots. :toothy4:
    Robin :wave:
    I love Jesus!
    Just learning the ropes :toothy5:
    Hairtype: 3b (me thinks) :confused:
  • oddityofwingsoddityofwings Posts: 1,261Registered Users
    I do both - I use a rinse-out and rinse that out entirely and then add a little bit (dime/5p size) splodge of conditioner as a leave-in and normally comb it through while sopping wet. I generally use normal conditioners instead of ones marketed as leave-ins (I need the extra moisture).
    3b/c. Fine, med-high porosity, normal elasticity. Hair loves oils in summer, protein in winter. Constantly battling the hard water monster.

Favourites:love5::