What is all this about protein??

Sorry newbie here!! I started being CG about a week and a half ago and I am LOVING it! But I keep hearing people talk about protein and stuff. How do you know if your hair needs more protein? and what should I buy to give it this?

Thanks guys :)!

Comments

• curlyhairmichukcurlyhairmichuk Posts: 860Registered Users
    Sorry newbie here!! I started being CG about a week and a half ago and I am LOVING it! But I keep hearing people talk about protein and stuff. How do you know if your hair needs more protein? and what should I buy to give it this?

Thanks guys :)!

Hi I would read this first http://livecurlylivefree.com/curly%20hair%20basics.htm - once you know the properties of your hair you'll be able to work out if you might need protein HTH
    UK curly

fine to medium strands, porous, medium density
    CG May 2009 - low poo occasionally
    Co-wash: Tresemme Naturals
    Styling -Naked Curl Defining Cream, BRHG, Mop Top, FSG
    Product for a good hair day: FSG or Mop Top
    Hair loves protein!
    http://public.fotki.com/curlyhairmichuk/
    new pics added Jan 2012

Enjoying the freedom of going curly!:wave:
    Duchess of Alba, Keeper of the Tartan Curls in The Order of the Curly Crusaders
  • MirCurlsMirCurls Posts: 2,660Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Just do a forum search and you'll find plenty of threads discussing protein and others who asked the same question. Info is there. You'll find it.

Also, do google search, and you'll find articles like over at RedCelticCurls' blog (I don't have the link handy).

It's not always easy--even after reading--to figure out if your hair needs protein. After some time getting to know your hair, you can GUESS. Some of the more observant gals here with know-how can pinpoint

For me, when my curls stop sproinging and I get a sort of frizzy look, I hit the hardcore protein. If that fixes it, then I needed protein. :)